Forti di Nago

DATE OF CONSTRUCTION: 1860/1861; commissioned by the Minister of War, 21 December 1859. The works started the first of June 1860 and finished the fifth of January 1861. It was inspected in 1861 and in 1863. the building firm Tomasini carried out the works.
TYPOLOGY: First generation (“French” school): not reinforced casemate of rough limestone, well carved with chisel and lime, with good results, also aesthetic. Among the workers there were three master stone cutters from Verona. The entire building is built on two floors with two lines of embrasures: it is an example of vertical defence that reflects the constructing principles of the new-German school, unique among the fortresses of the first generation in Trentino.
FUNCTION: The upper Fort was partly reserved as a quarter for the troops and partly as sentry post and entrance control; The lower Fort or road Battery is smaller and served to cut the way with a main entrance that blocked the road.
ARMING: In 1861 the upper fortress had 6 cannons of 10 cm., 4 of 12cm., and 1 of 15 cm. The lower fort had 2 cannons of 10 cm. The Sagron Battery assisted the works (1880/81). The fort is situated in a dominating position on the offshoots of Mount Baldo. It was demolished in 1900.
In 1914 it was dismantled and the cannons were lined up on the lakeside in the park of Hartungen’s sanatorium.


Request information